new map for TF2

new map for TF2

Postby *FDB*Jasper » Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:31 pm

Hey everyone I thought I would give the map making thing a try dose anyone have any ideas they may want in a map? let me know and I will try to put it into the plan :)
"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It is about learning to dance in the rain."
*FDB*Jasper
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Loganvill, Ga
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby MacK » Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:37 pm

A couple of large cargo barges floating down the Mississippi - tied together with planks. Or have them at a dockyard - with a bridge or crane nearby them.
Here's to you, as good as you are, And here's to me, as bad as I am, But as good as you are and as bad as I am, I'm as good as you are, bad as I am.
Image
User avatar
MacK
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:25 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Human Verification: 8

Re: new map for TF2

Postby Nikki » Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:06 pm

I think a maze like map would be cool. Like a capture the flag deal. Intel for both on opposite sides but a maze for the actual course. You wouldnt know what would be around the corner!
Image
User avatar
Nikki
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 2:51 pm
Location: Canada
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby StrongMAD » Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:57 pm

Try and keep it innovative - something different from the normal stuff. Perhaps a payload race up a couple of spiralling tracks to make more use of the vertical element so often ignored in this game?
*FDB*Loki - Couldn't hit a planet at close range...
StrongMAD
White Collar
White Collar
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:58 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: new map for TF2

Postby *FDB*Jasper » Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:31 pm

all good ideas I will see what I can put together I make a couple after I finish my first :)
"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It is about learning to dance in the rain."
*FDB*Jasper
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Loganvill, Ga
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby Cheez-it » Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:09 pm

The payload race should spiral upwards around a giant...rose! plr_fdb ftw!! :FDB:
User avatar
Cheez-it
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:14 am
Location: Dumfries, VA
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby Majik » Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:40 am

instead of dustbowl it would be.......










are you ready for this?

















Rosebowl!
Majik
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: new map for TF2

Postby *FDB*Jasper » Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:46 am

lol maj
"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It is about learning to dance in the rain."
*FDB*Jasper
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Loganvill, Ga
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby *FDB*Jasper » Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:27 am

Ok the map I decided to do first is the maze idea for capture the flag should have it done by the end of this week to early next week :RealHappy:
"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It is about learning to dance in the rain."
*FDB*Jasper
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Loganvill, Ga
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby Cheez-it » Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:41 am

Can't wait to see it, Jasper!
User avatar
Cheez-it
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:14 am
Location: Dumfries, VA
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby Nikki » Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:12 pm

Awesome. :D

Now I'm even more excited to play TF2!!!
Image
User avatar
Nikki
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 2:51 pm
Location: Canada
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby Aunt Jemima » Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:01 pm

Oh maj.

>SELECT * FROM tblUsers WHERE clue > 0
0 rows returned


"It's easier to be terrified by an enemy you admire."
Thufir Hawat to Feyd-Rautha
User avatar
Aunt Jemima
Pink Collar
Pink Collar
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 3:37 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby Your Hero Jed » Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:47 pm

I started building one the was a cp and ctf. It had a capture point that once taken opened the door to the intel for the team that got the point, but the triggering got to be a bit of a bother. I still think it would be a cool idea though.
Fresh out of batteries, but we're still making noise.Image
User avatar
Your Hero Jed
Big Cheese
Big Cheese
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Florida

Re: new map for TF2

Postby *FDB*Jasper » Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:34 pm

yeah that would be cool the idea crossed my mind about doing somthing like that but this being my first map im still trying to keep it simple ;)

By the way anyone that has done a map have you ever had trouble with the map not loading so you can test it and if so what did you do to fix it i am tired of starting over lol
"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It is about learning to dance in the rain."
*FDB*Jasper
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Loganvill, Ga
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby MacK » Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:38 pm

Just doing a little thread cleanup - slid this topic over into the map making section. I am excited to see what you come up with!
Here's to you, as good as you are, And here's to me, as bad as I am, But as good as you are and as bad as I am, I'm as good as you are, bad as I am.
Image
User avatar
MacK
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:25 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Human Verification: 8

Re: new map for TF2

Postby Your Hero Jed » Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:46 am

The biggest problem i had when i started map making was not closing it in properly. That will cause it to never load. So i'd make a huge box out of skymap then hollow it out.
Fresh out of batteries, but we're still making noise.Image
User avatar
Your Hero Jed
Big Cheese
Big Cheese
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Florida

Re: new map for TF2

Postby *FDB*Jasper » Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:48 pm

Your Hero Jed wrote:The biggest problem i had when i started map making was not closing it in properly. That will cause it to never load. So i'd make a huge box out of skymap then hollow it out.


Ok thank you Jed I will try that and see if it fixes my problem :)
"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It is about learning to dance in the rain."
*FDB*Jasper
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Loganvill, Ga
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby *FDB*Jasper » Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:50 pm

Just an update on the map Putting up some walls and stairs then the last thing will be item placment so should be done soon ::yay:: :)
"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It is about learning to dance in the rain."
*FDB*Jasper
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Loganvill, Ga
Human Verification: 204

Re: new map for TF2

Postby pesetas » Sun Jul 26, 2009 8:59 am

PM Mack or myself when ur done and we'll load it up...
"The clever combatant imposes his will on the enemy, but does not allow the enemy's will to be imposed on him"
- Sun Tzu

...1500+ and still spamming...
pesetas
Master
Master
 
Posts: 1755
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Charleston, SC

Re: new map for TF2

Postby *FDB*Jasper » Sun Jul 26, 2009 6:33 pm

pesetas wrote:PM Mack or myself when ur done and we'll load it up...


will do thanks
"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass, It is about learning to dance in the rain."
*FDB*Jasper
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:04 am
Location: Loganvill, Ga
Human Verification: 204

Next

Return to Mapping & Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron