Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Postby Majik » Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:34 pm

I just got my first win 7 home premium to work in and for the life of me I cannot get it to connect to comcast cable (through my linksys router).
For XP it was always detecting proxies then boom,connected.
Can anybody with Win 7 help me?
Majik
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Postby Your Hero Jed » Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:21 pm

try disabling the the network adapter then re-enable it. For a while i had to do this on my ult. win 7 machine until i finally did a driver reinstall.
Fresh out of batteries, but we're still making noise.Image
User avatar
Your Hero Jed
Big Cheese
Big Cheese
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Postby MacK » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:34 am

Post a screenshot of your network device properties and the TCPIP 4 settings page. Just want to ensure it's setup as it should be...
Here's to you, as good as you are, And here's to me, as bad as I am, But as good as you are and as bad as I am, I'm as good as you are, bad as I am.
Image
User avatar
MacK
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:25 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Human Verification: 8

Re: Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Postby Majik » Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:36 am

I actually did a network driver uninstall/reinstall like Jed suggested and it worked. Doesn't make sense to me,but it did.
Majik
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Postby Majik » Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:16 pm

Heres aniother question.
Person has outlook express 6, He wants to take his mail from the XP machine along with his contatcs,and put it on his Windows 7 machines mail client.
Anyone know a easy way to do this?
Majik
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Postby pesetas » Tue Mar 08, 2011 4:14 pm

Majik,

Outlook archives into .pst files. He can archive all of his contact and old emails into a .pst file and then should be able to import them if he's going to upgrade his outlook.

Personally, unless he's using outlook as part of a business type format I'd can it for something a bit more...progressive. Anyway MS has a support section that explains archiving, exporting and importing. Might be easier than me trying to explain it here.
"The clever combatant imposes his will on the enemy, but does not allow the enemy's will to be imposed on him"
- Sun Tzu

...1500+ and still spamming...
pesetas
Master
Master
 
Posts: 1755
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Charleston, SC

Re: Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Postby Majik » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:20 pm

Yeah Pes, I know that. The problem is the machine he has outlook express on has died,motherboard is shot.So I need to take those backup files,put them on a external drive so he cn put them on his new machine. OR I can import and export them for him,but that would involve him taking his machine down and bringing to me again. As far as getting something more progrssive...he doesn't want to. He's 78 years old and just wants the damn thing to work...lol.
Majik
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Postby Your Hero Jed » Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:54 pm

Sorry been without internet for a bit with the move. I'll look into it Maj. and see what i can find.
Fresh out of batteries, but we're still making noise.Image
User avatar
Your Hero Jed
Big Cheese
Big Cheese
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Windows 7 Home Premium problem

Postby Your Hero Jed » Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:33 pm

Fresh out of batteries, but we're still making noise.Image
User avatar
Your Hero Jed
Big Cheese
Big Cheese
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Florida


Return to Hardware & Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron