LCD Monitor question

LCD Monitor question

Postby Majik » Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:04 pm

AOC 2019vwa1 LCD monitor-is it good enough for gaming?
The response time is 5ms.
http://www.amazon.com/20IN-Ws-LCD-3000-1680X1050/dp/B001KZ4BTA
Majik
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: LCD Monitor question

Postby StrongMAD » Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:26 pm

5ms response is standard and totally fine. A few days ago I bought myself this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... t01Descrip

Though I managed to time it right and got it for 139. It's also 5ms and it rocks.
*FDB*Loki - Couldn't hit a planet at close range...
StrongMAD
White Collar
White Collar
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:58 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: LCD Monitor question

Postby Majik » Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:34 pm

Thats a nice one too Strong. I got my wife an Acer 19" a few months ago.
She loves it,though she doesn't do anything intensive like gaming.
Majik
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: LCD Monitor question

Postby Your Hero Jed » Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:51 pm

Fresh out of batteries, but we're still making noise.Image
User avatar
Your Hero Jed
Big Cheese
Big Cheese
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Florida

Re: LCD Monitor question

Postby BigD » Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:55 pm

Interesting info. Question though; I have always wondered how important the contrast ratio is. The one Maj bought is 3000:1
Strong's is 2500:1 And Jed's is 1000:1
Others on the market I have seen as high as 10,000:1
BigD
White Collar
White Collar
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: LCD Monitor question

Postby Your Hero Jed » Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:00 pm

I think that is for the colors. Higher means better looking blacks and whites. Could be wrong though.
Fresh out of batteries, but we're still making noise.Image
User avatar
Your Hero Jed
Big Cheese
Big Cheese
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm
Location: Florida

Re: LCD Monitor question

Postby Majik » Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:28 pm

I already have the monitor, its just that I have it hooked up to my business (that is closed now) pc,so it just hit me that it might be good to hook up to my personal computer that I game with.
Majik
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:04 pm

Re: LCD Monitor question

Postby {OF}MillerTime » Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:30 am

Do you have widescreen on your gaming machine new? If not, go here http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/wi ... s_List_-_A for info on setting up games that dont have it (i.e. SoF, Quakes, BF2)
User avatar
{OF}MillerTime
Lackey
Lackey
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:58 am
Location: Michigan, USA


Return to Hardware & Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron